Have a snack

You know those annoying moments when you are in a restaurant, hungry like Scooby doo and the waiter takes forever to serve your order. Those are the moments that tell you who you really are. You are impatient, constantly looking at the waiter wondering if she/ he has your order yet. You make crazy comments like, “what is happening in there? are they cooking food from the scratch?” One after the other you look at tables around you wondering, “damn! that looks so good, I should have ordered that”. You play that stupid game that every customer plays in a restaurant, asking yourself over and over, “is my food here yet? when will it come?”. Your stomach gives you a hard time, constantly reminding you to feed it. You lose all your patience, you pick up that fork and start air-eating* and you use the spoon to drink water. An itch almost convinces you that there is nothing weird about requesting a bite from a stranger’s plate. Your entire life flashes in front of your eyes and you are just about to collapse. The food arrives to your rescue. Resurrected, there is nothing stopping you from behaving as if you have seen food for the first time.

The above is a recent episode from my life. I and my friends went insane and we let this happen all the time. We are a happy bunch and the only time we ever had thoughts of strangling each other to death were when we were completely starved. We realized that the hard way.

Have you had one of these episodes too? You become so cranky you start disliking yourself? I am used to eating every 2-3 hours and even missing one meal makes me act like a Godzilla wanting to destroy everything in front of me. To fix this, I have decided to put some snack packet in all my bags to avoid episodes like this.

I know people who skip meals for no reasons and stupid reasons like, “I want to fit in that LBD”. No that’s not what you want you need to eat. Eating is more important than fitting into anything. Weren’t we all taught that, ‘The three basic necessities of life are food, clothing and shelter’. See, food comes before clothing! Food comes first and it always should because otherwise it will intervene with our happiness. Now we don’t food to add to our stress causing pile.

Next time you get cranky for no reason, have a snack.

Think about it.

Leave a comment